Expression of Birthday Thankfulness

19 11 2010

I feel like people may feel more inclined to read a blog post written on my birthday, so I think I need to make this one count.

It’s 6:25am as I start writing this, and 9:25am where it counts. In Boston, it’s currently sunny and in the 40’s. That’s just warm enough that you’re body temperature feels comfortably regulated as you head out into the world in your late fall/early winter clothing, but a wall of cool air still kisses your cheeks as you walk down the city’s beautiful streets. In Methuen, the schools are in full swing. The first batch of morning specials are approaching in the middle schools and the high schoolers are beginning to come awake after a sluggish first period and making their teachers’ lives a living hell.

Yep, life is pretty much the same on the east coast as it was when I left it. In fact, I’m fairly certain it’s exactly the same. Why wouldn’t it be?

I’ve been gone a little over four months now – 137 days, to be exact. This is the longest stretch of time I’ve ever been away from home. How does that feel? It feels (and tastes) like salty droplets falling down my cheeks.

But the tears are the good kind. A year ago at this time I was confused, depressed, and frustrated. Now I’m confident and focused on what I want to achieve for myself. As of Monday, I’ll officially be a full-time employee of one of Hollywood’s big studios. Things are finally being sorted out. Things are finally happening.

I could never have gone from Point A – a frustrated and miserable college graduate six months removed – to where I am without the same people making me feel oh-so-special today. I had given up on the idea that I had potential. They didn’t. Better yet, they reminded me over and over again that they thought so. Eventually, my stubborn and hard-headed brain believed what they had to say. Eventually I decided to believe in myself again, and I have them/you to thank for it.

A month ago I texted one of my former soccer players to check in, as I often do with most of them to see how they’re doing in high school or just starting college. I told him about the new job I had recently started. I told him how my boss was notoriously difficult and how hard it would be to master – even survive – working for him. His response was indicative of the role so many of you play in my life: “If anyone can do it, it’s you.”

In short, you all humble me completely and absolutely. I’d be nothing without you and everything I will be is because of you.

Life goes on without me back home, but because of you my life goes on here and it’s stronger than it’s ever been before.

I can never thank you enough for that gift.


Actions

Information

One response

19 11 2010
caroline

I just got goosebumps reading this. Congrats Kiel. If anyone deserves a great job, it’s you. Your continuous positive attitude is admirable as well. Best of luck (and happy birthday again!)!

Leave a comment